Practise - Advice

Whee

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I've been playing golf (trying) once or twice a week since Mar/Apr of this year.

Usually i'll have 15 minutes or so on the practise green sinking a few putts, and practising my chipping onto the green, getting as close to the hole as possible.

I've never done a proper practise session before, ever, beyond getting my driver out and sparking a couple down the range - and over the barriers into the car park.

So i've decided, in an attempt to improve my game, lower my handicap, and generally not look like an arse on the course every weekend, that it's high-time to put in some practise hours.

What would you fella's recommend starting with?

Facilities available to me are a putting green with an undulating surface, giving the opportunity to practise different reads etc. A decent driving range with distance targets. Also another practise green with a good sized bunker - a raised mound behind the bunker to give you the opportunity to practise lob shots, clearing the mound and sand.

I'm pretty tonk at the game, but occasionally I get everything right and the shot comes off. Usually once every 75-100 shots....

So, any advice on what to practise, time scales for each exercise etc, would be greatly appreciated.

While i'm asking for advice actually, if anyone can give me a decent method for clearing the mental block that surrounds my mind when I pick up a 5 or 6 iron, that'd be fantastic. I can hit my 7 iron 160 yards without too much fuss. I also get a decent contact with the 8, 9 and Pitch. It's just the 5 and 6 that constantly make me want to punch something.

Cheers.

Smiffy

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site