Practice makes Permanent?

Mattie

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Hello All

Ok, ive been playing (at the range mostly) for 6 months now 2-3 times per week. I went round our local 9 hole which is a Par of 31 in 48 the other day, only a couple of bad shots and a few short chips but I was quite happy and I now know what to work on at the range. Not great but noit too bad I guess.

Im using all my irons now SW-5 iron but im not too consistent with the 5 and 6. Is it just practice and more practice to become more consistent with the longer irons?

Mattie

jammydodger

Tour Winner
Visit site
A lot of experienced golfers struggle with long irons never mind beginners. Thats why theyve brought out hybrids. Just stick with the practice and the more you play the easier it will get when you get a repeatable swing and a more consistent strike.

Mattie

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Ive had 3 lessons so far :D and they have been very useful. I do hit my irons a long way s they are 1" longer etc which is useful I guess.

Ill keep practicing, give it a cople of years atleast :)

Thanks
Mattie

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
I would add that it is worth asking around to get a Pro reccommended and get a few lessons - what say you Bob? ;)

I coudn't possibly comment :D

One thing which might help......
When you get to the 5 and 6, try and swing them smoothly and keep good balance. :)

macsport1

Visit site
Practice does make permanent. But perfect practice makes perfect. People require at least 10,000 hours to gain expertise in their sport, so, most golfers just need to spend more time practising; however, the practice should be driven by measurable goals and advice from your golf pro. Most people hit long irons better when they shorten their grip on the club but also when they swing with a slower tempo. If you set a goal for yourself to 1. shorten your grip and 2. swing more slowly, you'll gain confidence in your long irons. I would practice this way at the range: