Plugged ball in semi rough

Also worth considering.....

If the ground was squishy enough for water to become evident when he took his stance - and that stance was outside the hazard, then he was in 'Casual Water' so entitled to free relief under Abnormal Ground Conditions - drop within 1 Club Length from nearest point of relief.
 
Also worth considering.....

If the ground was squishy enough for water to become evident when he took his stance - and that stance was outside the hazard, then he was in 'Casual Water' so entitled to free relief under Abnormal Ground Conditions - drop within 1 Club Length from nearest point of relief.

It was about a driver's length from the hazard, the ground was very soft - hence the ball being 2/3's underground but not sure there was water evident on my stance.
 
It was about a driver's length from the hazard, the ground was very soft - hence the ball being 2/3's underground but not sure there was water evident on my stance.

It was probably just an 'unlucky' situation then!

I've always been a fan of the 'plugged in the rough' Local Rule - throughout the entire season. It covers these situations, that are not really meant to happen!
 
Thanks for all your help on this, I did still manage to win the match on the 18th as my mate went OOB and then through the back of the green.

Hogan, my mistake for mentioning the red stakes. :thup:
 
All sorted - apologies for extending discussion through my misunderstanding of situation - the red stakes threw me :)

I'll extend it a little further. The OP described a small stream with rough to the right of it. Even if there were no stakes on the right of the stream, its natural margin would define the right hand side of the hazard. It would not just be a matter of anything to the right of the stakes being in the hazard.
 
I'll extend it a little further. The OP described a small stream with rough to the right of it. Even if there were no stakes on the right of the stream, its natural margin would define the right hand side of the hazard. It would not just be a matter of anything to the right of the stakes being in the hazard.

I wondered about that...

So I have a stream running parallel and very close to a hedge (that is not out of bounds). Red stakes run along the fairway margin of the stream and define edge of LWH; there are no red stakes the far side of the stream. If my ball ends up in the hedge it is NOT in the LWH (which I guess is pretty obvious) and can hence not make use of any relief specific to LWH. Determining the edge of the stream and hence the LWH might I imagine be at times rather difficult - but I guess that were the edge not obvious the greenkeepers should make it so - otherwise they need red stakes.
 
If there are no red stakes to the far side of the hazard, a local rule should specify that the far margin is infinity or the far side of the hedge defines the margin. The close hedge should certainly (preferably) be in the hazard.
 
Top