Playing you provisional again and again

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,822
Visit site
Played with me man Trev, the other day and he was 90 ish yard from green and topped it into mega rough at back of green, he played a provisional and fatted 20 yard, he walked past his ball to look for first.

i told him he could keep playing his provisional till he gets to his initial ball, or the area it is in to save him goin back and forwards. Is that correct, as he was a bit apprehensive.

secondly seeing as his ball was through the green, technically he wasn't goin that far, so is he ok to play to the green and then go Forward another 30 yd look for it, (we didn't find it ) and then come back for his provisional.

cheers guys.
 
Played with me man Trev, the other day and he was 90 ish yard from green and topped it into mega rough at back of green, he played a provisional and fatted 20 yard, he walked past his ball to look for first.

i told him he could keep playing his provisional till he gets to his initial ball, or the area it is in to save him goin back and forwards. Is that correct, as he was a bit apprehensive.

secondly seeing as his ball was through the green, technically he wasn't goin that far, so is he ok to play to the green and then go Forward another 30 yd look for it, (we didn't find it ) and then come back for his provisional.

cheers guys.

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).
 
So from what @rulefan says and quotes from rules, we estimate how far from the hole the original ball is (doesn't matter if in the event we were actually wrong) - let's say it has gone through the green and we think it will be about 30yds from the flag. Player play the provisional until he is about 30yds from the flag then has to be careful as at some point he still needs to know or be virtually certain that the provisional is still further from the hole before playing it. The decision remains the player's but at any point a FC could challenge the player.
 
So from what @rulefan says and quotes from rules, we estimate how far from the hole the original ball is (doesn't matter if in the event we were actually wrong) - let's say it has gone through the green and we think it will be about 30yds from the flag. Player play the provisional until he is about 30yds from the flag then has to be careful as at some point he still needs to know or be virtually certain that the provisional is still further from the hole before playing it. The decision remains the player's but at any point a FC could challenge the player.


Rulefan and swings it like hogan mega thanks, I suppose it is a bit of common sense but I wanted to be sure. I was certain he could play his ball up to the hole but it was the around the green bit I was not to sure about. I will let trev know as he has mentioned it a couple of times since so al put his mind at rest. All the best Andy
 
Top