PC help please

LIG

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Need to remove all personal data from my lappy before trading it in. Never having "sold" one before, (I still have every PC I've ever bought stored away somewhere, win95 desktops too :eek:) I wanted to know what methods are available for erasing personal stuff, which methods are easy and which are most secure. Is there such a thing as a "Factory Reset" similar to smartphones, more importantly, is it secure?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Also, Please assume I'm a tech dunderhead and need my hand held through any process. :oops:

PhilTheFragger

Provider of Entertainment for the Golfing Gods 🙄
Visit site
The link from FT is fine if you want to wipe the entire machine and reload windows from scratch,

But that will wipe out the programs like office which makes it less desirable for the purchaser.

You can wipe your data quite easily retaining windows and programs.

1 create a new user profile, make it an administrator.

2 log into this new user profile

3 delete your old profile including data files

4 empty the recycle bin

5 download Glary Utilities, it’s free and you then need to wipe the computers free space.

The program does multiple passes so can take a while.

Shout if you get stuck 👍

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
There is a simple factory reset if you were supplied with the original system CD or the Back up is kept on a separate disk partition (Acers do this and how to reset was in the manual)

LIG

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
The link from FT is fine if you want to wipe the entire machine and reload windows from scratch,

But that will wipe out the programs like office which makes it less desirable for the purchaser.

You can wipe your data quite easily retaining windows and programs.

1 create a new user profile, make it an administrator.

2 log into this new user profile

3 delete your old profile including data files

4 empty the recycle bin