Path query

faroyon

Medal Winner
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
34
Visit site
So...... We have a cart path, the right hand edge of which marks OOB. Ball is on path, obviously can't drop to the right. The drop options to the left are pretty naff ( bushes etc), the 'back on line doesn't work because the curve of the path means you would be dropping OOB. What I am asking is..... could you putt the ball further up the path and then drop from it's new position even though it is still effectively the same hazard? Thanks
 
Assuming it's a 'proper' cart-path (so deemed an Immovable Obstruction), then Yes! Though that would cost that shot for frustratingly little gain (like plenty of other situations that can happen) and would also seem to involve risk of bouncing OOB.

Oh and it also depends on any relevant 'Local Rule'.

And I trust you are using the word 'hazard' as non-golf description rather than Rules of Golf one.
 
The back of the line would not work anyway because this is not an option for 'free' relief from an Immovable Obstruction which is always nearest point of relief, even if that means dropping in a bush.

The back of the line is only an option under penalty for an unplayable lie in this circumstance.
 
Top