old irons or new.....

OLDGIT ST

Visit site
Hi all, great forum, as a beginner I am after some advice, and apologies if this topic has been done to death…..
I started playing in March this year as a laugh with mates but have truly been bitten by the bug…
Range twice a week plus a round or two, also had four lessons and being 48 im rearly disappointed I did not try Golf earlier…..

I have been using a cheap second hand Wilson box set (£100) that whilst its been fairly ok, I know they are not something I can proceed with.
I went for a fitting this week with the intention of buying new clubs.
I was interested in the Cobra F9’s and the Ping G410’s.
The fitting based on me being 5.11 etc showed I would need 2 degree up (green dot) and my swing speed with a 7 iron was 85-89 mph so probably a stiff shaft.
The Wilsons are a cheap graphite and soft and I already new they were not the best for me…..

So, the F9 irons I loved more so than the G410’s however the G410 5 wood and driver I preferred over the Cobra . The G410 5 wood was fantastic to hit compared to the Cobra (I think the rails on the bottom of the Cobra compared to the flat bottom of the G410 had something to do with it in my head lol) the G410 driver was half inch shorter shaft and I hit that straight far more consistently than the Cobra BUT not as long…..

I came away with what would be a F9 iron set and G410 5 wood – driver undecided.
This little lot was not so little price wise…. and here after thinking overnight about it is my question….at last lol

I can buy a mint set of SECOND HAND green dot stiff shaft Ping G30 iron set and a new G410 5 wood and under a third of the price… a driver I would love some cheap alternative suggestions.