obtaining official handicap

andygrimbo

Visit site
This may seem a silly question, but im quite new to golf. I have been playing random courses for the summer and i am thinking of joining my local club. When i join the club i want to gain an official handicap, how is this obtained? i have heard that 5 rounds scorecards need to be submitted to the club and they will allocate me with a handicap? is this true? also do the qualifying rounds need to be played with partners or other club members? or can the be played on my own and submitted?

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
usually its 3 cards that need to put in, they need to be played with a member who has a handicap (who marks your card) and you sign in (usually in pro shop) before you go out to play

currently in the process of trying to do again at a new club and finding it annoyingly difficult to get someone to mark cards midweek :(

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Hi Andy and welcome to the forum.
You need to only hand in 3 cards and normally a member needs to sign the cards but that varies from club to club.
My advice is to go along to the local club and have a chat with the secretary and see what their rules are.
Good luck and welcome to golf

andygrimbo

Visit site
Thanks for the speedy replies guys! as i dont really know anyone who is a member at the club that im joining, do u think that i will struggle to get other members to play 3 rounds with me and verify the scorecards? or does this vary from club to club?

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
varies from club to club though the club itself should help you if struggling. will depend a bit on when you want to play, will be a lot easier if you play weekends

andygrimbo

Visit site
Im thinking of joining grimsby golf club, mostly will be playing weekdays but im sure i can persuade a member/members to play 3 rounds just to get me my handicap! also does your handicap expire if u dont play a set number of rounds per year?

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site