backwoodsman
Tour Winner
Hi. One for the rules historians, please.
Had a discussion in 19th yesterday where one person was adamant that if you had less than 14 clubs, once you had started your round, that was it, you could not add more to bring the number up to 14. He was only convinced otherwise when we showed him a copy of the rule book (rule 4-4). He then said, "well, that's changed then. It never used to be like that."
So, is that the case? Was there a time when adding clubs (to bring up to 14) was not allowed under the rules? If so, how long ago. Personally, I don’t recall a change, (at least, not in anything like recent times)
Had a discussion in 19th yesterday where one person was adamant that if you had less than 14 clubs, once you had started your round, that was it, you could not add more to bring the number up to 14. He was only convinced otherwise when we showed him a copy of the rule book (rule 4-4). He then said, "well, that's changed then. It never used to be like that."
So, is that the case? Was there a time when adding clubs (to bring up to 14) was not allowed under the rules? If so, how long ago. Personally, I don’t recall a change, (at least, not in anything like recent times)