New golfer advice needed

Andymc

Visit site
Hi fellow golfers, my name is Andy and this is my first time on a golf forum.
2 month ago I found a set of Callaway x20’s with graphite shafts that a nephew was throwing away so I took them off his hands with the vintage bag and simple trolley.
I bought myself a second hand odyssey putter. An ST8TS hybrid and fairway woods (cheap rubbish) came on my path so I took them too.
Then having a bit of a Google found a weekend “get your handicap” course so got a cancellation and mange’s to pass for a Handicap 54 ?? Since then I started watching instruction videos from Pro golfer Rick Shiels on YouTube and now 6 weeks later have arrived on handicap 24/25.
I have not had any real lessons and was wondering how to lower my handicap further.
I want to get another 10 points off If possible.
Ohh and I can’t get the ball any further (straight) than 150m sometimes 170m.
Any useful tips will be very welcome.
Thanks, Andy.

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
You need to see a pro in the flesh. You could be doing a multitude of things wrong but an online video wont tell you that. You need to get the basics right and to do that you need to see a proper person.

If you mention where you are some on here may be able to recommend a pro local to you. Otherwise it's a case of ask around locally for who people like or may suit.

Andymc

Visit site
You need to see a pro in the flesh. You could be doing a multitude of things wrong but an online video wont tell you that. You need to get the basics right and to do that you need to see a proper person.

If you mention where you are some on here may be able to recommend a pro local to you. Otherwise it's a case of ask around locally for who people like or may suit.
Sounds like sound advice, I wrecking your spot on. Location these days south of holland.

Andymc

Visit site
That's good advice. Lessons early on are a good investment. Sound fundamentals will pay dividends.

Other than that, have fun.