My Study of OBFL versus NBFL

Patrick57

Head Pro
Visit site
I am not the most experienced or involved golf instructor/player when it comes to many of the scientific studies and developments involving equipment or the subtleties of the biological mechanics of the golf swing. I do believe that these studies are important and I should perhaps look into them more but I have tried to read the three most revered publications on this, “The Science of Golf” by Dave Williams; “The Golfing Machine” by Homer Kelley, and “Search for the Perfect Swing” by Cochran and Stobbs, from over forty years ago, and they all make very difficult and complicated reading.

So, I have a decision to make, ''What's more important for my students, my understanding of these fine details or my understanding of what they need to know?'' I found the answer to this question by directing the same question to myself. As a player and coach, I have reached a satisfying level of competence by describing and demonstrating the golf swing in a language that 99% of my students can understand. If Kelley decided that 'maintaining the line of compression' was probably the most important factor of pure ball striking then I would prefer that he found an uncomplicated way of explaining exactly what this short sentence meant.

But nothing has caught me more unprepared than the revelations of the NBFL. How could all of the greats of the last 30-40 years have been so wrong. My jaw dropped as I read the articles on this and heard comments like, ''It is now evident that what we believed from the OBFL is almost opposite of what actually happens.'' I could have accepted slightly different or even different but the use of the word opposite just riled me. I have put many hours of study into this new revelation and would like to present my findings.

There are two main points being made...

Faldo, Donald, Harmon and many more describe the old laws as...