Moving ball query

timbo83

New member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
2
Visit site
Just want to get opinions on this. 2010, ball in rough, didn’t ground club, ball moves on backswing. I did not knowingly make ball move. Should I have been penalised?
 
Old 18-2b If the player's ball moves after he has addressed it, the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.

But it appears that you did not address the ball so 18-2b does not apply and no penalty
 
Old 18-2b If the player's ball moves after he has addressed it, the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.

But it appears that you did not address the ball so 18-2b does not apply and no penalty
I agree with your logic but a couple of questions:

1) Did you see the movement or was it a third party?
2) As the ball was in the rough and you had taken your stance I presume you weren't going to ground your club - at what point are you deemed to have addressed the ball?
 
2) As the ball was in the rough and you had taken your stance I presume you weren't going to ground your club - at what point are you deemed to have addressed the ball?

2010
Addressing the Ball.

A players has addressed the ball when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance
 
Hmm. Omly me reading the original post with Asperger glasses on it seems. ?
 
Thanks for clarifying, it was a competition that we won by one and don’t like to think that I breached the rules in any way!!! You are right 10 years ago, move on!!
 
Top