Mother of all slices

Coopsarama

Club Champion
Visit site
Hey everyody. This is my first post so take it easy on me ok? lol

I've been playing solidly for about seven months now, and the only thing i seem to be unable to crack is my slice off the tee. I seem to be ok with a three wood but any time i show my driver the ball it can head off nice and straight down the left hand side only to end up whipping literally directly across the fairway and dare i say it,sometimes possibly even backwards. (!?) I think t might be the flex on my shaft is too soft or it might be my grip. NOt entirely sure but it's driving me mad. Like I say my irons are pretty much sweet, they usually go pretty straight and long (160 yds with a 6 iron). Any ideas? :D

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Hi Coopserama and welcome to the forum.

Your problem is fairly common. Lots of us can hit their irons great on the same day their driver is acting up and vice versa. It can often be a ball position problem in my experience.

If you hit your irons straight from the middle of your stance and your driver slices off your left heel then you can see that the way the club approaches the ball is totally different. Often a good idea to put the ball a little further back in the stance for the drives. Experiment with it until the ball stops starting off left and slicing. You might start pushing it at first but a bit of practice might result in a nice wee draw.

Have you had any lessons? Most pros would sort you out in 10 minutes

Cheers

Coopsarama

Club Champion
Visit site
Na, no lessons as yet. I keep meaning to get some booked in but saturday's are my only real days off just now and I'd rather play than devote it to lessons at the moment! I'll have to look into it. I'm looking at new clubs the now as well. Thinking G5's, Nike Ignite's or Taylormade R7's. Any advice?

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Bad man !