Matchplay query

Vikingman

Head Pro
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
532
Location
Widnes
Visit site
Player A and player B have each played two shots and are on the green. Player A putts first and leaves his putt a couple of inches short of the hole. Player B concedes the tap in (but not the hole), nonchalantly knocks his opponents ball back with his putter and proceeds to hole his own putt.

Has player B infringed in any way by knocking the ball back with his putter?
 
You should not putt a ball back to someone as it could be construed as testing the green.

I would not pull someone up for that but I wouldn't do it in a match.
 
You should not putt a ball back to someone as it could be construed as testing the green.

I would not pull someone up for that but I wouldn't do it in a match.

Glad you would not "pull someone up for that" given this Decision:

[FONT=&quot]16-1d/1 Player Concedes Opponent's Next Stroke and Rolls or Knocks Ball to Opponent[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Q. A player concedes his opponent's next stroke and either picks up the opponent's ball and rolls it to the opponent or knocks it back to him with a club. The player did so only for the purpose of returning the opponent's ball to him, not to test the surface of the putting green. Was the player in breach of Rule 16-1d (Testing Surface)?[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]A. No. Such casual action is not a breach of Rule 16-1d[/FONT]
 
Top