jdpjamesp
Q-School Graduate
Am I allowed to use my club to make an indentation in the ground (pushing down the grass, slightly, not damaging the surface) ahead of my ball (not on the green of course) to mark the direction I want to play my shot?
Am I allowed to use my club to make an indentation in the ground (pushing down the grass, slightly, not damaging the surface) ahead of my ball (not on the green of course) to mark the direction I want to play my shot?
Am I allowed to use my club to make an indentation in the ground (pushing down the grass, slightly, not damaging the surface) ahead of my ball (not on the green of course) to mark the direction I want to play my shot?
I don't ever remember a time when I haven't been able to find anything to use as a close target, like a divot, patch of darker grass, etc.
Am I allowed to use my club to make an indentation in the ground (pushing down the grass, slightly, not damaging the surface) ahead of my ball (not on the green of course) to mark the direction I want to play my shot?
Other than on the putting green, if you make or place any mark on the ground to indicate your line of play, it has to be removed before you make your stroke. That’s Rule 8-2a [(backwoodsman has a typo in his reference). In the way you are doing it, you have made a mark that is not removed and is thus a breach of the rule.
On the putting green you may not make a mark at all (Rule 8-2b).