Lessons Paying Off...

Nick_Toye

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I held off having lessons for a long time, too long really. On the advise on many here I found a good coach, and 4 lessons in I am really starting to see my game come together.

My posture is much better, I am controlling the club head much better, and yesterday we worked on my slice.

I measure my game on stats. I understand some players are feel players, well I am a stats player. I have yet to hit a birdie in any of my rounds (since I started playing seriously this past 2 years) other than the very first round. But, I am hitting more fairways, better GIR, lower scores and good putting average. I am also enjoying myself, despite me apparently getting bogged down in stats. :)

Now my biggest issue has been my slice, it has resulted in me having like a 40% FIR average, which generally resulted in me playing my second shot from the rough. So I have been massively aware that if I can get my drives on the fairway more, then I am going to get lower scores, and as a result - enjoy my game more.

Well my FIR is around 40%, and I know its because of my out to in swing, and club head control at impact is far too open.

The lesson opened my eyes, I had the big lightbulb moment, and became more aware of my swing and how the consequences of that swing caused the ball to fly right. Basically my swing was becoming disconnected on the take away, and I was raising my arms too high, nothing was in sync, left leg was raising too much, and it was more of a chopping motion. It seems so obvious to me now, but having that clarity restored is brilliant.

Today I was more confident, I was more relaxed in my swing, and turned in a 77% FIR average. Which made me smile. Much more than I would do when I am faffing about in the trees looking for balls. I also didn't lose a single ball today either, which is a first.