Lesson one... The grip

TonyN

Money List Winner
Visit site
Ok guys just got back from the first lesson and i must say, i am 20% disapointed and 80% excited. here's why.

I have been playing for about 6 months now, and as a right handed golfer i play 'caggie handed' and have my right hand at the top of the club and left at the bottom. Its how i have always held a club, (on the field when i was a kid) so it just feels natural to me. Alot of people have said i should change but it just felt to wierd.

So, tonight at my first lesson the pro asks me to hit a few balls and says i see you hit them to the right. And then if by magic i read his mind. 'let me guess, have your tried it the other way round' he said. Yes and it doesnt feel right was my reply but your the pro so if you think i should then i will.

Basically he convinced me that because i have only been playing 6 months that in the long run it will benefit me if i cahnge now, because it shouldnt take too long to forget the old grip and pick up the new one. (if i had been playing for years he would of just stuck with my current grip)

So, he proceeded by setting me up with the correct grip and making me take a few practice swings. Then hitting some half swing of a tee. By the end of the lesson i was hitting full swings and quite straight too. And probably getting the same distance i was with my caggie handed grip. The differennce was, i felt i didnt have to try as hard. We worked on releasing the hands and correcting the swing plane.

I must admit, i felt like i looked stupid but am actually glad that he made me do it. I dont think i will actually go out and play a few rounds for a while but just hit a couple thousand balls over the next few months and let muscle memory do its thing.

Booked in for another lesson next wednesday to see how am getting on, in the mean time, Its dedication, persistance and hard work!

haplesshacker

Money List Winner
mid-life-crisis-man.blogspot.co.uk