Launch angle - a nightmare

drbuk

Visit site
Hi Forum users,

My first post - and have reached the desperate stage of resorting to a Forum to help me with my golf woes.

Simply put - I have spent an hour this morning at a Custom Fitting session. Ending with the fitter saying "I give up " :D

LEST USE my 6-iron as the base club for this discussion.

Simple stats:
- RH/6ft 3
- handicap: 8
- current driver angle: 7.75 (Titleist delofted)
- current irons: Ping G15's (yes, yes beginner clubs I know)

Here's the problem: I hit the ball straight (very slight natural fade) - great..... but I have a launch angle of 25 Degrees.

I changed Drivers - so went from a 9.5 down to a 7.5 - which has CHANGED MY game - quite literally - golf has become fun again. I have added some 30 yards to my drives - simply by changing my driver loft.

So - I thought I would try the same with a custom fit set of irons.

This morning: the fitting session went as follows:
- suggested move to PING i20 Irons / regular / stiff - launch angle went UP - to 33-34 degrees
- tried forged set (Ping Anser)with extra stiff: launch angle 32
- tried titleist (forget club name - forged: stayed at 33 degrees.
- tried a MIZUNO (not sure which one) - no difference

Its worth mentioning that in-between trying different clubs - I purposely went back to my OWN club to ensure that my swing was not getting tired. As soon as I did this - the 5 shots hit with my own club - put the launch angle back down at 25 degrees. Also, I have a really regular swing plane - simpy because I had a 10 yard left to right spread of my landing zone.

But as you would accept a 25 degree loft is still to high and ideally should be around the 18-20 degree mark.

So, all in all - NO SUCCESS.

I mean, is it literally just a matter of accepting the fact that if I want to hit 150 yards I have to stick with 6 iron ? Or do I need to think about de-lofting my conventional irons - ie go from 29 degrees to 26 or maybe 23 degrees?