Joining a club

JGolfer

Visit site
I'm looking for some tips on joining a club. For myself I'm mid 20s and I struggle to find people around my age to play. So I'm thinking of joining a club but looking for some advice around it in general.

The last time I was part of a club when in my mid teens when I played an entire year alone as nobody really spoke to me because my pregnant sister picked me up which seemed to shock all the members.

So not exactly a great memory of them. However would like to meet people around my age to have rounds with. But then again I have no issues playing with those who are older than myself or younger.

The reviews I have read on a few clubs seem to be such a mixed bag.

User20204

Visit site
The last time I was part of a club when in my mid teens when I played an entire year alone as nobody really spoke to me because my pregnant sister picked me up which seemed to shock all the members.

Eh ? What ? How utterly bizarre :confused: I have no knowledge of this but that seems the most absurd reason possible for folk not to talk to you :unsure:

JGolfer

Visit site
Eh ? What ? How utterly bizarre :confused: I have no knowledge of this but that seems the most absurd reason possible for folk not to talk to you :unsure:

Well the first two weeks was great then when all the older gents where out and about my sister came to pick me up she was heavily pregnant at the time she was 18, after that it was far than great. I'd go out and tee off solo and the same people who would often allow me to join them or let me play through when full. Where less than welcoming.

Now sure could put this down to sheer coincidence but I doubt it.

Grant85

Head Pro
Visit site
Where are you based Jordan.

I was in a not dissimilar situation as you in my mid 20s (apart from the pregnant sister thing). I eventually took the plunge and joined somewhere purely because it was affordable.