Is it worth it?

I had a ball moving situation the other day and, given the circumstances, I took the Amanda approach. He asked me what to do, I hadn't seen the incident, he was sure that he didn't cause it to move, it wasn't very windy, he couldn't come in the buffer anyway! I told him the rule and said that I'd not have a problem either way in what he did, I wasn't his marker but I do feel just in the capacity as marker that I am not a referee!
 
Unless when grounding his club it is known or virtually certain that he did not cause the ball to move then a penalty. Ball in a divot and club grounded in addressing ball. There are many scenarios when this could cause the ball to move - so you can't be virtually certain he didn't. Penalty I'd say.

indeed, but as outlined it's 2 shots not the 1 intimated by Lord T above (this is after all the Rules Forum :))

if the ball started moving after the stroke was started it would be 1
 
Strange thing is - I can count on one finger the number of times I can recall an opponent in a match incurring a breach penalty (his ball hit his bag)

i know what you mean.

However I play so many club matches that it does happen more often that that; most times I ignore the breach (because I'm so far ahead!).

I did have one situation that tested me to breaking - new to golf senior, really really nice but 5 up on me at the 11th. His ball landed on a weir sill in the middle of the hazard and bounced into a playable (hack out but progress) situation on a shot hole - but still inside the hazard definition. He took his stance then picked up a large twig and threw it to one side...

He lost that hole, I birdied the last to win 1 up and he somehow beat me in the semi the next year - going on to win. He observed afterwards that he was surprised I had failed to get down in 2 on any of the last 4 holes to win :) He ended up wining the Cup.

I love golf
 
Played today with the guy who has given me most material for my "is it worth it" thread

So today, playing foursomes, his partner hits his ball into deep grass on a par three, him "don't we get a drop for a plugged ball" me "err the ball is not touching the ground and is in grass", him "but it's plugged in the grass" me "it's not plugged"

They took a stroke and distance penalty!
 
Top