• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Is he counting the grains of sand?

Really why.
Statement 1. There was no question in my post. And your solution was Twaddle! See Rulefan's post(s) for confirmation! The Rules have changed!
Statement 2. Twaddle! See Rulefan's post(s) for confirmation! The Rules have changed!
Statement 3. Twaddle! As per Statements 1 & 2! See Rulefan's post(s) for confirmation! The Rules have changed!
 
So I apologised
Then just posted a possible solution to your post where you think the rule needs amending and that’s the way you answer.
Fair enough.
 
...
Then just posted a possible solution to your post where you think the rule needs amending and that’s the way you answer.
...
But that 'solution' won't work - as removal of loose impediments in a bunker is, now, allowed! Which is the reason for the 'twaddle' description!
 
Last edited:
Please explain why not!
He has moved so much stuff that he has improved his lie . Imo of course we are all entitled to one of them.
But it is a waste area ,if it was deemed a bunker he would not do that .
But that’s only a suggestion to a rule you thought needed amending .
 
He is a pro golfer and the rules officials said it was ok. I don't know what you think he 'got away with'
That’s not what I asked !
Do you think he would be able to do what he did in a bunker.?
Would the referee let him do that in a bunker?

It would depend what your version of reasonable movement of the sand was . In a bunker!
That is open to question. Imo.
 
Last edited:
Last edited:
AAAGH!! (The screaming version!) I'll let Rulefan put you right!!
I wish you would .
It was your “needs amending “ and the “spirit of the rules” that started me thinking.
“ reasonable movement of sand” that’s what the rules say when moving a loose impediment, your interpretation must be different to mine.
 
Last edited:
I wish you would .
It was your “needs amending “ and the “spirit of the rules” that started me thinking.
See my amended post!

It's (probably - as, as previously posted, I'm no expert on the sort of precise wording reqd) the definition of 'loose impediments' that could be amended - to exclude the sort of (not sand) stuff he was removing.

And 'spirit of the rules' means nothing if really pushed, especially in the Pro game, but 'everything' to those who believe in the essence of what the game is all about!
 
Last edited:
Could they make the waste area GUR, PLAY PROHIBITED or even OOB?
Most waste areas are for flooding to take the excess water .
They are very close to the fairways and greens .
I would imagine no tours would do this as they don’t like internal OOB and usually have any on a course removed for the tournament duration.
 
I have never seen that suggested before. I am curious about where you found it.
Mainly Florida where all the storm drains are run into waste areas to then drain back into the standing lakes and ponds.
Had a really good chat to a course superintendent and he explained it to me.
They help the course to be playable almost immediately it stops raining.
The slopes and hills are made to run the water into them.
 
I may be wrong but you can touch the sand within reason while removing loose impediments.

I have only seen the low definition footage so cant really make out what he was poking at but it seemed to me like he was unnecessarily sand along with any loose impediments. He went at the ground 26 times on the footage. I dont believe for a second there was 26 individual loose impediments there and am astounded they let him do what he did.

If he didnt break the rule by unnecessarily moving the sand he certainly showed a flaw in the rule and flaunted it.
 
See my amended post!

It's (probably - as, as previously posted, I'm no expert on the sort of precise wording reqd) the definition of 'loose impediments' that could be amended - to exclude the sort of (not sand) stuff he was removing.

And 'spirit of the rules' means nothing if really pushed, especially in the Pro game, but 'everything' to those who believe in the essence of what the game is all about!
Let’s be honest by the time he had finished he had basically teed it up.
My point was if the waste area was deemed a bunker for the tournament the referee would not allow him to do that.
Usually a waste area is course shells not sand.
 
Let’s be honest by the time he had finished he had basically teed it up.
My point was if the waste area was deemed a bunker for the tournament the referee would not allow him to do that.
Usually a waste area is course shells not sand.
And you still haven't absorbed the fact that, since the latest rules were introduced, HAD IT BEEN DEEMED A BUNKER, HE COULD HAVE DONE EXACTLY THE SAME!
So the bit of you post that I've highlighted is twaddle!
 
Last edited:
Top