Introduction & joining my first club

calluma11

Club Champion
Visit site
Morning all!

Dont think there's a thread for introducing myself so i'll do it here. Been a 'lurker' for a while here.

My name's Callum from Doncaster. Aged 22. Played golf all my life but, until last summer, it had only - unfortunately - been 3 rounds a year. Decided i wanted to take things seriously so started going weekly at a local pay as you play 9 holer. A beginner friendly course (wouldnt call myself a beginner but my friends were complete beginners and it was £6.90 a round)

Completely obsessed with all things golf. Always on here reading posts and on youtube looking at tips and particularly enjoy course vlogs. Continually going to a local wasteland and practicing various wedgeplay etc

Was thinking of joining a society as I wasnt sure I could afford a full membership. Turns out a local course i've played a handful of times has a good deal for 22-25 year olds. So long story short, in the space of a couple of days my dad had sorted me out with a decent deal at this course (his company has corporate membership with an annual golf day)
My application form has been accepted, I'm off to have a look around and, if i like it, sign up tomorrow morning. Meeting with the Captain and board Friday afternoon with a few other new mambers.

Very much looking forward to improving my game and enjoying a 'proper' course. Would like to take part in competitions when I get a handicap (probably 27/28). I like the idea of nipping for just a few holes after work, or even the practice facilities without needing to 'get my moneys worth' like i do currently at the pay as you play.

A bit nervous that i dont know anyone there, but i'm going to force myself to be confident and introduce myself and be social and i'm sure i'll have someone to play with soon enough.

One thing i'm unsure on, the website says there's lots of members, juniors, women, mens and rabbits. What are rabbit members?