Incorrect score on scorecard

chrbb

Visit site
I think I was right in DQ myself but ever hopeful thought I'd check:D

Saturday comp - stableford.

When my marker (lady captain) and I went through our cards after the game she had my stableford total score 1 more than I did, compared scores she had me down for a 4, I scored 5 and had recorded it on her card as marker as 5.

She said ok and that she'd changed the score and agreed the same total as me. Thought no more, signed cards, had lunch, sulked because my score was rancid etc etc

In my role of handicap sec today whilst entering the cards I realised she'd changed only the score not the gross for that hole, as a newbie I wasn't sure whether it was a DQ or not, but decided to err on the side of caution and recorded it as dq in the comp book.

Am I right?

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
basically yes - you have knowingly signed for a gross score lower than you actually took. you should have checked the card (in this case including the alteration) before signing.

easy to get wrong when you get such issues crop up; although in your situation you should realise how common such things are and taken tripple care :)

btw - this is exactly why it's better not to have the stableford points on the card; they are a very dangerous facotr that screws up proper checking. last time I posted this some people suggested I was mad and that such problems didn't exist in the (their) real world.....

Last edited:

cookelad

Tour Winner
Visit site
I think I was right in DQ myself but ever hopeful thought I'd check:D

Saturday comp - stableford.

When my marker (lady captain) and I went through our cards after the game she had my stableford total score 1 more than I did, compared scores she had me down for a 4, I scored 5 and had recorded it on her card as marker as 5.