Immovable Object

Red_Eyes

Medal Winner
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
43
Location
Birmingham-ish
Visit site
Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player’s ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

I am still new to golf so please excuse what may be a basic question. My local municapal has a nice pair of electrical pylons to the right of a main faiway which i successfully managed to place between me and the flagstick, I was a good 10 metres behind with no interference took no relief. However pylons are made of metal struts about 2 inches wide, which are suprisingly easy to hit. As I result my lie was right under the pylon. This did interfere with my swing if I was to take a full swing and being some 300 yards from the green I was of a mind to do. But I know my ability and took a half swing to get onto the fairway. And do you know... I hit the bloody pylon again. This time ending up in the middle of the fairway some 2 metres behind where my last but one shot was. :(

Is a pylon and obstruction? Given in reality it takes up little space and does interfere with my view of the green.

If and when should I have taken relief? Hindsight says while under the pylon.
 

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
37,141
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Visit site
We have a pylon or 2 on our course and the rule we go by is if it interferes with your swing or stance then you get a free drop away otherwise its tough - play it as it lies and try to go through it or round it. You could drop away under a penalty but not much point in that.
 

viscount17

Money List Winner
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
8,704
Location
Middle Earth,
Visit site
I think, because it's a man-made object, it is an immoveable object. A free drop (1 club length?) if your stance or swing is obstructed otherwise tough, play round it.
 

Canfordhacker

Q-School Graduate
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,094
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Is there not a local rule detailed on the card? I've played some courses where you get relief for stance and swing, but not for line of sight - but then you replay the shot without penalty should you hit the pylon or wires. But these have always been detailed as a local rule.
 

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
25,671
Location
Watford
Visit site
The 'replay the shot if you hit the pylon' is the usual local rule.

Sometimes you can be there for days trying to get through a web of metal junk between you and the pin.
 

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
37,141
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Visit site
We have that rule if you hit the power line but not the pylon. Trouble is if you hit the line you get a scorch mark on your ball on mostly you can't even see where it comes down. They're only 2 inches thick or so but you'd be amazed how often the get hit.
 

Red_Eyes

Medal Winner
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
43
Location
Birmingham-ish
Visit site
Played the course again this morning and read the card properly...yes it is an immovable object. Another lesson learnt.

I have another question but I'll search the forums first ...
 

DCB

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
7,732
Location
Midlothian
Visit site
Your card should detail the method of taking relief from these obstructions. Be careful in your interpretation of what the local rule says. Don't try and read too much into it. I wouldn't have thought it would give you 'line of site' relief. That's a Tour local rule.
 

viscount17

Money List Winner
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
8,704
Location
Middle Earth,
Visit site
We have that rule if you hit the power line but not the pylon. Trouble is if you hit the line you get a scorch mark on your ball on mostly you can't even see where it comes down. They're only 2 inches thick or so but you'd be amazed how often the get hit.

no I wouldn't! we have the same rule. I think I've hit every cable at some time or other, and taken chunks of insulation off!
 
Top