• pOOR

Votes: 7 22.6%
  • SO bAD

Votes: 2 6.5%

• Total voters

alex57834

Club Champion
Visit site
I'm 12 and this is my very first post. A month ago I realised the joys of golf and have become hooked. As a beginner I have a few problems but I will just focus on a 2 right now.

First

Okay, I have noticed that I become worse with a (for example) 3 iron and find that I can hit a seven iron farther then the 3. So would I have to do some hand wrist exercises to improve my wrist strength?

Second

Can you recommend some videos for me to watch in order to improve my swing?

alex57834

Club Champion
Visit site
Well how should I gain more control with the lower numbered clubs and about the lessons, I are going to get some from a club pro sometime next week (so excited). One to one lessons are out of the picture (my dad won't pay). I just wanted to say my handicap for a pitch and putt type of course par 3's all 18 holes. Average length - 90 yards. Hcp - 96 - 1 week later - 85 now need to improve even more so I can say I conquered the pitch and putt at Heaton park.

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Welcome Alex.

1. I don't think you need wrist strength to play golf. You shouldn't be trying to push the club through with your wrists. Even if you were fully grown and strong you could only add 1 or 2 mph to the swing by trying to push and the extra tension it would create would harm your swing.
My wrists feel very passive in my swing, and the only conscious thing I do with them is allow them to be relaxed so the club can swing through. All I do is hold on to it.