Hybrids!

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Evening all,
As iv changed my irons i need to do another reshuffle on my bag as regards my lofts.......
I recently got my new Cobra S2's 5-SW and the lofts are pretty strong....This i dont mind as they are pretty similar to my old wilson Di7's.
5 Iron loft is 25 deg(similar to most 4 irons)......
As im looking to put some hybrids into my bag im considering dropping my 18deg 5 wood and my 21deg hybrid to get more consistent lofts......
Im thinking maybe getting a 4 iron at 22 deg's and getting a Cobra baffler 3H at 19 deg and maybe a 2H at 17deg.....
Im presuming the 17 deg would be easier to hit and more forgiving than my 3 wood and probably just as long.....
I dont use a driver at the moment.....

I also need to reconsider my wedge system as now i have a 9 degree gap between my PW and my 52deg.....This is far too big....

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
See if you can make do for now. Pointless getting all worried until you discover there really is a problem.

I played against a chap who only used a rescue most of the way round. Rescue, rescue, pitch, putt (1) most of the way round.

He did hit irons (of course) but only on the short holes and then he tended to 2 putt (thank goodness). I looks to me; reading your post, that if you just drop the 4 iron you'll have a 25* 5 iron/21* rescue and 18* 5 wood.....that's fine.

If you have space for the 4 iron, keep it in and see if you feel it's some use some of the time. Apart from tee shots on par 3s where my 4 iron is spot on the right club, I just use it for tee shots on short holes and tactical lay-ups where accuracy is more important than distance.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
Consistent lofts are almost irrelevent Kid - its how far you hit them. Consistent distance gaps is what's important. I've currently got a 4 and 5 wood only 2 degrees apart but the 4 wood goes 20 yards further than the 5 so the gap is what I'm looking for.