Hybrid help please

lex!

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I have been working hard at my game for about a year now and it's getting much more solid, after plenty of ups and downs. I have had a course of lessons, and regularly practise my drills at the range and short game areas. I am happy now, with having a decent shot off the tee, and my irons last night were the best I have hit them. However, what was formerly my fave club in the bag, my G20 23deg hybrid, now hooks round to the left every time I use it. What the eck is going wrong?!?

Canary_Yellow

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I'm not an expert (so arguably shouldn't be commenting), but I hook my hybrid left when I swing too hard. A nice smooth swing with the hybrid gets a good result for me. If I swing too fast I get too wristy, try to help the ball in the air, smother it and send it low and left.

I try to imagine I'm hitting a 7 iron when I use mine.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
what was formerly my fave club in the bag, my G20 23deg hybrid, now hooks round to the left every time I use it. What the eck is going wrong?!?

if you take your ball to target line, is the ball starting direction mostly to the left of that target line & then curving further left?

or is the ball's starting direction to the right of that target line then curving left back towards target before continuing to curve left as it keeps going past target?

lex!

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
or is the ball's starting direction to the right of that target line then curving left back towards target before continuing to curve left as it keeps going past target?

Hi guys, thanks for your replies, flight is more like the above.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site

Hi guys, thanks for your replies, flight is more like the above.

assuming because the other shots are mostly okay that the grip is not a ways too strong with either hand. but there could be a few other things coming in to play you could have a look at :