How's your course bearing up in this exceptionally wet weather?

JohnnyDee

Tour Winner
Visit site
I'm no expert and don't have access to official Met Office records or data, but just from personal observation and pure gut-feeling this is undoubtedly the longest period of almost continuous wet weather I can remember since starting to play seriously in the late 90s.

We have been doing pretty well with extensive drainage projects in recent years paying off, however since the weekend we have reached saturation point and have been closed - a decision I fully support. I should say we are located in the Home Counties and one of our problems is we are on clay soil so have the associated general drainage issues that go with that.

So how are you doing?

Last edited:

Norrin Radd

Tour Winner
Visit site
being a member of Willingdon we have very few issues ,the greens soft as one would expect but the rest of the course is very much not been affected by the rain ,we are chalk based and drain with no problems at all.the only time we close the course is if it is snowbound ,but being in Eastbourne that has happened only twice in the last ten years ,or so im informed.
as you say most courses in this area are clay based and struggle to drain .my choice of course was very much decided on the fact it was chalk based and didnt close as soon as there is a cloud in the sky.

upsidedown

Tour Winner
Visit site
Clay based and been closed 13 days already. Open today just and have had carry only over the weekend for the first time in years . Another 5mm if rain will close us again .

pendodave

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Very badly. Was open today, but pretty much unplayable. Raining again tonight, I wouldn't be surprised if it's closed until the weekend.
I've been a member here for 5 years, and it's easily the worst winter we've had. Not even the end of December yet...

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site