How much a difference does a driver shaft make?

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
So I bought off the shelf after trying a few stock clubs and went with what felt best in AG. Was never offered various shafts and lofts.

I have blue diamona stiff Flex shaft. SS varies between 98-100 recently. Last year was 105 but fitness and flexibility has dwindled. As I never got fit foe the driver I've always had niggling thought of having right set up.

How would I go about testing various shafts then repkacing without actually spending £400 on a new driver? Would it even be worthwhile

I'm a honking driver of the ball, albeit I've improved massively in 2 years. My average total is probably 230 but many are high spinny 200 yard balloons.

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
i would go for a proper fitting if thats what you want.... or just buy a load and try them and find out what works best for you the hard way

Face breaker

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Believe it or not it makes a hell of a difference to ball flight, too soft and it'll balloon, to stiff and it'll stay low causing you to struggle with distance.

I use a stiff shaft because I have a real high trajectory and the stiff shaft helps to eliminate the looping effect thus giving me more distance, now if only I could find a shaft that eliminates the effects of slicing ! :smirk:

Hobbit

Mordorator
Visit site
I went through a costly experiment of buying a couple of drivers with reg shafts, thinking old age had slowed me down enough to warrant it. Each time I 'garaged' the new driver and put the old one with a stiff shaft back in the bag. I was losing a shed load of balls out right, with a massive slice. I haven't sliced like that for 20 years.