"Holed" putt somehow pops back out

JohnnyDee

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 15, 2015
Messages
2,831
Location
Berkshire
Visit site
Here's an odd one that really happened.

Pro's Weekend "fun comp" last year and one of our 4-ball team 'holes' a putt only to see the ball pop back onto the surface as if pushed out by something.

After the looks of amazement and surprised laugher we go to look at the hole. Our best guess at what had happened was that it appeared the cup had not been set into the green properly. It was in at the regulation depth OK, but was not touching the earth for the entire 360*, and a little 'shelf' had been created between the earth wall and the rim of the cup.

It must have been a squillion to one the way PP's ball entered the hole at the correct angle and force to cause the ball to pop out. It certainly didn't rattle in, appearing to roll along at 'normal' pace. It really was below the surface but then popped out!! To paraphrase Victor Meldrew, none of our group could "belieeeeeev....!"

Team-mate cursed golfing gods and tapped it in for another shot declaring a 5 and not a 4.

None of us were sure if what he did was correct and we never queried it when we finished as we were well out of the hunt.

But what's the rule please? Assume we did it right but you never know sometimes with these oddities:mmm:
 
Last edited:
[h=2]16/5[/h] [h=4]Ball Strikes Edge of Hole-Liner and Bounces Out of Hole[/h]Q.A player's ball struck the rim of a hole-liner, which had not been sunk deep enough, and bounced out of the hole. Should the ball be considered holed in such circumstances?

A.No. Under the Definition of "Holed," the ball must be at rest within the circumference of the hole.
 
Top