Hole in one!!.. Or is it??

Have you ever hit the green or been adjacent before? Off the tees you were using?

Not off the whites I havent but then again ive never went over the corner before from the whites.

Have been on the green and beside it a few times from the yellows but that takes a different line and wouldnt land on the downslope that my shot must have landed on yesterday.
 
Steve unless there is evidence that the ball was moved it has to count .. unless youd hit it miles away from the green & there was no chance of it been in then accept it mate ..you were honest enough to say you had doubt & you contacted the comp sec . unless anyone else has proof otherwise it has to count in my opinion.. youl get enough bad luck / bounces etc in your golfing life so accept the good with the bad mate ... congrats by the way..
 
Turn it round a little, if you were playing a dogleg and OOB on the inside, you know you caught it great but get there to find it 2 feet over the OOB line, you see wee lads running off in the same manner, with a lack of witnesses or other evidence you have to accept it as gone. So in your predicament it is not just as satisfying as seeing it go in but it is still a Hole in One. Congrats matey.
 
Cheers Bill and Brendy

Still feels a little unsatisfying but I can live in hope that one day i will get to see the ball go in the hole for an ace and have no doubts over the legitimacy of it.

Maybe save it for next years Irish meet :D
 
Cheers Bill and Brendy

Still feels a little unsatisfying but I can live in hope that one day i will get to see the ball go in the hole for an ace and have no doubts over the legitimacy of it.

Maybe save it for next years Irish meet :D
Be plenty of lads waiting in the bar WHEN you do mate.. the scotsmen will have theirs ordered to save you the time :D :D
 
completely agree and understand, I wouldnt want it either but as it was possible and your shot was on target and struck well enough to reach then you have to count it.

Only issue I have is that when you declared your ball lost then surely that's it lost unless the rules have changed on that one?
 
completely agree and understand, I wouldnt want it either but as it was possible and your shot was on target and struck well enough to reach then you have to count it.

Only issue I have is that when you declared your ball lost then surely that's it lost unless the rules have changed on that one?
As technicaly the hole was finished would the ace not over rule what happend next ... how would that work if you played & finished with a provisional to find the ball in the hole then?? anybody know out of curiosity??
 
completely agree and understand, I wouldnt want it either but as it was possible and your shot was on target and struck well enough to reach then you have to count it.

Only issue I have is that when you declared your ball lost then surely that's it lost unless the rules have changed on that one?
As technicaly the hole was finished would the ace not over rule what happend next ... how would that work if you played & finished with a provisional to find the ball in the hole then?? anybody know out of curiosity??

When the ball is holed the hole is then complete. Any subsequent shots do not count. He could've taken a further 9 shots to get down there with a provisional but the original ball counts as an ace.

Well done sir, I'll have a large with you!

CK
 
completely agree and understand, I wouldnt want it either but as it was possible and your shot was on target and struck well enough to reach then you have to count it.

Only issue I have is that when you declared your ball lost then surely that's it lost unless the rules have changed on that one?
As technicaly the hole was finished would the ace not over rule what happend next ... how would that work if you played & finished with a provisional to find the ball in the hole then?? anybody know out of curiosity??

When the ball is holed the hole is then complete. Any subsequent shots do not count. He could've taken a further 9 shots to get down there with a provisional but the original ball counts as an ace.

Well done sir, I'll have a large with you!

CK
cheers CK thank you for that
 
I wouldn't be happy calling it a hole in one.

I would want to be more certain. That said, it has to go down on the card as one, which kind of makes it one. Not a real one though??
 
You cant declare a ball lost matey.

Whats it called when you say I've stopped looking for my ball and moving on, .....matey
or, whens a lost ball a lost ball? after 5 mins searching?
 
You cant declare a ball lost matey.

Whats it called when you say I've stopped looking for my ball and moving on, .....matey
or, whens a lost ball a lost ball? after 5 mins searching?

I think in days gone by you could declare a ball lost or abandon it but currently the Rules define a "lost ball" as follows (see Definitions in the Rule book)

"A ball is deemed “lost” if:

a. It is not found or identified as his by the player within five minutes after the player’s side or his or their caddies have begun to search for it; or

b. The player has made a stroke at a provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place (see Rule 27-2b); or

c. The player has put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-la); or

d. The player has put another ball into play because it is known or virtually certain that the ball, which has not been found, has been moved by an outside agency (see Rule 18-1), is in an obstruction (see Rule 24-3), is in an abnormal ground condition (see Rule 25-1c) or is in a water hazard (see Rule 26-1); or

e. The player has made a stroke at a substituted ball."

The FAQ's to Rule 27 on the R&A website state clearly that "A player cannot render a ball lost by declaration".

Even if you say you aren't going to look for a ball, if your partner or opponent (or anyone else I guess) finds your ball within 5 minutes and none of the other situations above apply then it isn't lost.

Was a thread on this a while back in relation to whether, in a match, you should try to find your opponent's first ball if it's gone deep in the cabbage and he's knocked his provisional stiff and says he isn't going to bother to look for it.

Lots of interesting Decisions on this if you are a bit of a sad Rules geek like me. :( :D :D

http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Rules-of-Golf.aspx#/rules/?ruleNum=27
 
Thanks Mashie, I think Brendy new exactly what I meant but was being pedantic.
I'm pretty sure that the time spent looking by the OP then his partners playing their second shots then walking to the green all took more than 5 mins therefore the ball was lost, declared or otherwise ;)
However, thanks for informing me of the absolute letter of the rules
 
No worries Nikon.

Just to clarify, when the original ball was holed the hole was completed so the subsequent search for the ball was irrelevant. Decision 1-1/3 Player Discovers Original Ball in Hole after Searching Five Minutes And then Continuing Play with Provisional Ball

"Q. At a par-3 hole, a player, believing his original ball may be lost, plays a provisional ball. He searches five minutes for the original ball and then plays the provisional ball onto the green. At that point, the original ball is found in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. The player's score is 1. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball (Rule 1-1)."
 
Cheers Bill and Brendy

Still feels a little unsatisfying but I can live in hope that one day i will get to see the ball go in the hole for an ace and have no doubts over the legitimacy of it.

Maybe save it for next years Irish meet :D
Be plenty of lads waiting in the bar WHEN you do mate.. the scotsmen will have theirs ordered to save you the time :D :D

I will have mine ordered on the friday night just to save time :p :p
 
Thanks Mashie, I think Brendy new exactly what I meant but was being pedantic.
I'm pretty sure that the time spent looking by the OP then his partners playing their second shots then walking to the green all took more than 5 mins therefore the ball was lost, declared or otherwise ;)
However, thanks for informing me of the absolute letter of the rules

But I wasnt being pedantic, you can choose not to look but you cant stand in the middle of the fairway and declare "my ball is lost". Simply clarifying.
 
Top