Hi, how to decide on an upgraded iron set?

RogB

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi all,

Signed up to the forum recently after reading the tips and banter for some time. I've been playing social golf for about a year, mainly in SW London / Surrey but occasionally up to Scotland. As a total beginner (in my forties, not played as a kid) I got a Ben Sayers package set, against perceived wisdom but the choice initially was too daunting and I wanted to get stuck in. I've had a couple of sets of 6 lessons so feel the basics are getting ingrained properly. Over the year I've been replacing the clubs which worked least well for me to a tight budget - putter to a yes Madison, driver to MD superstrong, and then after a big gap the hybrid and finally 3 and 5 (all MD). These have all proven to be a marked upgrade in performance (less marked improvement in my scores :p) - I'm now wondering about the irons. I hit them quite well, bad shot is a hook but that is due to a lazy turn at the waist and not following through fully which I continually work on.

Had a sh!t day at work so popped in to AG at Birdhills to try some GI irons to see if the grass was greener (not been before, nor tested any clubs properly). Tried Di9, Di11 (which I'd read a lot about and thought would suit me best) and the managers suggestions of callaway x-22, nicklaus and of course my own. Then I was asked what iron and I realised I hadn't thought much about how to test them. I chose 7 irons as I figured the strike paper would mask any spin on long irons and i needed to see how far they carried so no point picking a 5 and guessing where it went!

So after much rambling - how do you systematically test for a new set of irons? Is a 7 iron sensible or should I have picked an extreme or 2 clubs from each set? Could you tell after 10 balls if it would ever work for you?

Cheers for any thoughts and advice
Roger