HELP - Iron Swing

TheCaddie

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hello All,

Slightly embarrassed to post this vid but....

I wanted to ask for some advice regarding my swing. This is by no means happening every time, but I found it happened maybe 3 or 4 times yesterday off the tee and I am struggling to know how and why this has occurred.

I am new to golf and have played for the past 4 months, I am around 40 over consistently now, but keen to break the 100 mark asap.

My friend says I may be swinging too hard with my right arm / putting too much force in? I think that could be an issue, but I am just starting out so I am guessing there are plenty of problem points! The contact is good, the direction not so much!

[video=youtube_share;EgBEeHc9WAY]http://youtu.be/EgBEeHc9WAY[/video]

Keen to hear your views.

Thanks!

garyinderry

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
The club face is extremely closed going back. You are also swinging very much to the left. I Can't be sure but I think I can see a very strong right hand (not how hard you are holding it, is it turned around under the handle. Ie to the right? )

These two things together would cause that pull shot.

If straight down the target line is 12. In that swing, at impact your clubhead is exiting at 10 o'clock. Try to swing a little more to the right, say 1 o clock.

You can try this and dramatically change your shot shape. alternatively id go see a pro and get some lessons. There is the basis of a very good swing in there with a few fundamental set up changes.

TheCaddie

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
The club face is extremely closed going back. You are also swinging very much to the left. I Can't be sure but I think I can see a very strong right hand (not how hard you are holding it, is it turned around under the handle. Ie to the right? )

These two things together would cause that pull shot.