Hazard

Scouser

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
3,580
Location
Liverpool
Visit site
Quick question after a round to day.

If you are in a hazard and play the ball out of the hazard, can you then ground your club? Also what happens if the ball stayed in the hazard?

Cheers
 
Yes once your ball is out of the hazard you can ground your club. if its still in the hazard then you can't.
 
Are you saying that the ball was in the hazard, then you played it out, but only just. So you're playing your next shot whilst standing partially in the hazard?
 
What matters is where the ball is. So you can stand in the hazard and ground your club if the ball is outside.
 
It's where the ball is that is important!

Btw. There's also a potential issue about testing the condition of a hazard if the ball is in/goes into a similar hazard!

Edit. guest100718 beat me to it!
 
As in a bunker.... Rather than water hazard I presume?

Both! 13-4 actually states '(whether or a water hazard)' and then continues to simply use the term 'hazard'.

That was actually why I didn't differentiate (though I could/should have added the clarification too!). Reading the Rules absolutely literally - no 'interpretation' - is the key! Though the Definitions need to be applied too, as some are quite specific! It's possible to be holding 2 balls in your hand (oo-er!) both of which are Lost Balls! :rolleyes:
 
Haha funny.... I just thought one water hazard to another would probably be different but bunkers on the same course would be similar
 
Top