Canfadebutnotdraw
Newbie
Good evening,my first post on this forum and would like some advice if possible on an incident at my club today.The 17th hole is currently in the process of being remodelled and about half way to the green an old tee is currently being dug up and consequently has been declared as GUR.I generally lay up on this hole and tried to do so today but unfortunately hooked my tee shot,which duly went into the GUR area.All well and good [or bad actually
] and i've seen it happen before with the normal outcome of the usual drop procedure.However,my shot today must have hit a stone or other object within the GUR area and rebounded high over a hedge which borders it to the left,which meant that i had gone out of bounds.What would the ruling on this be,bearing in mind that if the GUR area had not been there,my ball would not have gone out of bounds-is there a set ruling on this type of incident or would it be a question of a local ruling being applied [i didn't have time to discuss it with any club official today]? Would be very grateful for any thoughts on the issue.