My view is that there is no free relief as it is still a bunker but it also happens to be GUR. The description if the area where you get relief is ‘above bunkers’ this is certainly where the ball is.We have the local rule in place NOT allowing free relief from embedded ball in bunker face.
This situation occurred in a bounce game today.
My thoughts are that free relief should be available as a GUR bunker is NOT a bunker.
Am I correct? Thanks.
View attachment 60498
Good point I need to consider. The bunker face may also be GUR. No line around the bunker.Interesting, my understanding is that the stacked or soil face is not part of the bunker in the first place. So therefore not part of the area of GUR.
Review the definition of “bunker”.Good point I need to consider. The bunker face may also be GUR. No line around the bunker.
Review the definition of “bunker”.
IMO, the bunker face is not part of the bunker.
Now, if I have to stand in the bunker (GUR) to make the stroke?

Very good point. So if the GUR which is an abnormal course condition (in this case the whole of the bunker) is interfering with stroke or stance then free relief is available? In this case it’s irrelevant whether or not the face itself is GUR.Review the definition of “bunker”.
IMO, the bunker face is not part of the bunker.
Now, if I have to stand in the bunker (GUR) to make the stroke?
GUR is simply an Abnormal Course Condition.Does this mean:
1. That whether the bunker is “GUR” or not does not matter in this situation and the only thing is whether or not the new stacked face is GUR?
Or
2. As per my original question that a “bunker” marked GUR is NOT a bunker?
Of course it is a consideration. The bunker marked as GUR is now part of the general area.I would have to stand in the GUR area (the sand) to play that ball? Is that also a consideration?
Yes. 16.1a(1)I would have to stand in the GUR area (the sand) to play that ball? Is that also a consideration?
Totally re-built. About 30 of the 100 we have on the course.Why is the bunker GUR?
Only if the Committee have defined it as suchThe bunker marked as GUR is now part of the general area.
Is this point in contradiction to Rulefan’s point in post #9 ?The bunker marked as GUR is now part of the general area.
"When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker)."Is this point in contradiction to Rulefan’s point in post #9 ?
“GUR is simply an Abnormal Course Condition.
It is not a Defined Area of the Course. Bunkers are.”
Did the comp sec confirm the areas or are not part of the General Area?I messaged our comp sec and he confirmed that the stacked turf is also GUR.
A white lime round the bunkers would be worthwhile doing but I guess that they are very busy.