• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Grounding club on backswing?

Alex1975

Tour Winner
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
4,462
Visit site
Hi,

I was in the practice bunker yesterday and was practicing some back of the bunker down hill lies. I spotted that a couple of times as I took the club away on the back swing I was swooshing some sand and then coming through and taking the ball. I presume this is grounding my club even though its done throughout the swing?

Thx
 
Yes!

Anna Nordquist suffered a penalty after moving 'a single grain of sand' on her backswing in the playoff for the US Open a couple of weeks ago!
 
Last edited:
Hi,

I was in the practice bunker yesterday and was practicing some back of the bunker down hill lies. I spotted that a couple of times as I took the club away on the back swing I was swooshing some sand and then coming through and taking the ball. I presume this is grounding my club even though its done throughout the swing?

Thx

Technically, it may not be "grounding" but is "touching" the sand with a club other than during the stroke. Both grounding and touching (as described) are breaches of Rule 13-4 (Ball in Hazard: Prohibited Actions).
 
Technically, it may not be "grounding" but is "touching" the sand with a club other than during the stroke. Both grounding and touching (as described) are breaches of Rule 13-4 (Ball in Hazard: Prohibited Actions).


you mentioned 'other than during the stroke' but isn't it during his stroke?
 
Top