Greenkeeping staff in bunker

Pants

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
1,933
Visit site
Just a quickie (I hope).

My ball was in a bunker where staff were carrying out normal maintenance work - tidying edges etc. Would the bunker be deemed GUR while they were in there?

TIA
 
Just a quickie (I hope).

My ball was in a bunker where staff were carrying out normal maintenance work - tidying edges etc. Would the bunker be deemed GUR while they were in there?

TIA

I doubt it, unless they told you it was or had a sign saying it was.
 
Were they there before your shot?
My thoughts....
If so, then GUR (lucky you - unless you didn't shout fore!)
If not then, I believe, GKs are Outside Agency/ies. So replace with no penalty - after they have finished.
 
Thanks guys. Unfortunately the ball was in one of the many size 10 footprints in there. They did rake it nicely after they had finished though.
 
Couple weeks back, the greenies were working in greenside bunker on a par 3. Edging, raking & so on. They stood aside to let us take our tee shots. Two balls on green, mine in bunker. They went back to working. When we got there they simply said "Ground under repair mate; you'll have to drop out". Stood aside to let me play over the bunker, then back to working. And then said, "we're off to the 10th next, if we get there before you do, those bunkers will be under repair too"
 
Come on guys! Let's stick to the rules matter and not spoil it with personalised abuse.

Backwoodsman introduced an interesting development from the original question. The mere fact that ground staff are working on a bunker does not, as already said, make it GUR. But what if they state that it is GUR and, as it is at my club and I imagine most others, they have delegated authority to determine areas of GUR? It's probably academic. It wouldn't do in a competition because it would be a succession of different bunkers. and in day to day social play you would do whatever made sense without the formality and besides if the greenkeepers have to stand aside to let you play after dropping outside the bunker, they might as well stand aside and let you play out of it.
 
Come on guys! Let's stick to the rules matter and not spoil it with personalised abuse.

Backwoodsman introduced an interesting development from the original question. The mere fact that ground staff are working on a bunker does not, as already said, make it GUR. But what if they state that it is GUR and, as it is at my club and I imagine most others, they have delegated authority to determine areas of GUR? It's probably academic. It wouldn't do in a competition because it would be a succession of different bunkers. and in day to day social play you would do whatever made sense without the formality and besides if the greenkeepers have to stand aside to let you play after dropping outside the bunker, they might as well stand aside and let you play out of it.
Certainly at our place the greenies have delegated authority to designate GUR. And I guess that while they are working on a bunker, it is effectively "under repair", so logically I guess there's no real reason why it can't be designated GUR for the duration? I take your point as regards them standing aside, but I guess if they're part way through a task, there's reasonable cause for them to not want you in there? (By the way, when I say they stood aside, they chucked my ball out to me, but stayed in the bunker, just not on my line). Also take your point about competitions - and at our place, they simply would not do that kind of work on a competion day.
 
Top