Greenkeepers Question Time!!

Greenkeeper

Club Champion
Visit site
Hello fellow golfers

I am a Golf Course Manager as well as a keen golfer, so I understand both perspectives of golf course life.

The many years I have been lucky enough to be a greenkeeper, I have been asked all sorts of questions regarding the operations we do. I would like to bridge the gap from the complexities of greenkeeping to the common frustrations of our customers ‘you the golfer’.

So if you would like to ask me questions regarding ‘greenkeeping matters’ on this site I would be more than happy to oblige.

I weight in anticipation!

Regards

The keeper of the green.

oasis90

Hacker
Visit site
I'm a member of two golf courses and have found a significant difference in the colour of the greens. After the month of May bought us substantial rain the greens and one course a bright green and very soft. At the other course the greens are stil significantly hard and patched with brown. Are there any reasons why this could be? The material the greens are made of perhaps?

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Easy one - How are you meant to rake a bunker after you've played from it - sand back towards the middle or towards the edge (as most seem to do!)?

Greenkeeper

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi oasis90

This is a very good question! One that I could write a book on. I see this throughout the UK, very different greens, yet similar soils weather and so on.