Embedded Ball

Old Skier

Tour Winner
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
9,608
Location
Instow - play in North Devon
Visit site
Apologies if this has been done but can't find it in search or going back a couple if pages.

Can someone in the know clarify if a ball that is plugged in the general playing area can be cleaned after it has been lifted prior to dropping?
 
Yes

Only restrictions I am aware of relate to marking and lifting to identify (clean only as much as necessary to identify) and when required to lift it because it's in someone else's way.
The former would also carry over to marking and lifting a ball to check whether it's embedded - if not replace no cleaning.
 
16.3 calls out cleaning the ball when on a putting green, so my immediate assumption would be no, you can’t clean the ball when taking relief from an embedded ball
 
14.1c is the rule.

You can always clean a lifted ball on the green. A lifted ball in the general area can be cleaned except under a few circumstances. Taking relief from an embedded ball isn’t one of those cirumstances so you can clean it (y)
 
Yup, didn’t see 14.1c. Bizarrely, you think they would refer to it in 16.3 to make it really clear and not leave it to the interpretation I, wrongly, had.
 
Top