Driver head still in sellophane.

Baldy Bouncer

Blackballed
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
550
Visit site
Is it ok to use a driver that still has the sellophane completely covering the head in a match or strokeplay comp?
I only ask because in a recent 4bbb match, me and my partner were paired against a couple of guys, where one of them was using a driver he was thinking of buying that still had the wrapper on, so he wouldn`t scratch the crown if he skied one off the tee.
We won btw, but for reference in the future, is the driver non-conforming if the wrapper is still on when in use?


Cheers BB.
 
I doubt it. The FAQ on the USGA rules site says

Q. Can I attach a piece of tape to my clubface?

A. No, external attachments to the clubface are not permitted under Rule 1a in Appendix II.
 
I don't see a problem with this. As I see it, the protective covering is not an attachment nor is it a foreign material applied to the face for the purpose of influencing the movement of the ball. I'll wait to see if rulefan sees it differently, however.

But what an extraordinary thing to do, to try out a new driver in a competition and with a plastic film still on the club head.
:swing:
 
Thanks for that but it puzzles me a bit. 4-2b clearly requires intent on the part of the player to influence the movement of the ball and I have difficulty attributing that intent to this player whose purpose is to protect the club head.
 
Thanks for that but it puzzles me a bit. 4-2b clearly requires intent on the part of the player to influence the movement of the ball and I have difficulty attributing that intent to this player whose purpose is to protect the club head.
Perhaps I wasn't clear, there is no penalty as there is no intent.
 
This is is from the R&A guide to the rules on clubs and balls

Foreign Material (Rule 4-2b)Foreign material must not be applied to the club face for the purpose of influencing the movement of the ball.
The Committee uses this Rule when materials of a temporary nature have been applied to the face – such as saliva, grass juice, chalk, aerosol spray or similar substances. Permanent attachments or coatings such as plasma spray, “balata”-type rubber or paint are dealt with under the club face Rules in Appendix II, 5 (see Section 5 below).
The most important question to ask when ruling on a club which has
had something temporarily applied to the face by a player is “why has it been put there?” If a material or substance has been applied to the face in order to protect it or clean it, then it would probably be permitted provided all other Rules are satisfied. However, if the purpose of the application is to influence the movement of the ball or assist the player in making a stroke, it would be prohibited.
Any type of tape or similar material added to the face is not permitted for any purpose.

this section confirms that protective covers are ok on the head, but not the face

•Examples of attachments that could now be permitted include:

: Attachments to the clubhead (other than the face), such as protective coverings, decorative items or alignment aids, provided the item is semi-permanent. However, such items must not excessively protrude from the clubhead and must conform to the shape of the clubhead. Also, for driving clubs, such attachments must not serve to cause any confusion with the correct identification of a club on the Conforming Driver List. Permanent additions to a clubhead would be considered part of the head and, therefore, the head, in its modified state, would have to conform to Appendix II, 4 of the Rules (i.e. for dimensions and “plain in shape”).
 
The highlighted words were pointed out to me when I enquired. Just what the distinction would be for permitting or not was not expanded.

The most important question to ask when ruling on a club which has had something temporarily applied to the face by a player is “why has it been put there?”
If a material or substance has been applied to the face in order to protect it or clean it, then it would probably be permitted
 
The highlighted words were pointed out to me when I enquired. Just what the distinction would be for permitting or not was not expanded.

The most important question to ask when ruling on a club which has had something temporarily applied to the face by a player is “why has it been put there?”
If a material or substance has been applied to the face in order to protect it or clean it, then it would probably be permitted

could that relate to varnish or something similar? The highlighted line in my 2nd quote seems pretty black and white.
 
It's an interesting one. I'm still inclined to the view that it is ok under 4-2b as there is no intent to influence the movement of the ball and that it is not an attachment. But we'll see!

It is a bit of a daft one really. If this player is to be penalised, it is for something that would have, if anything, an adverse effect on his play with the club.
 
It's an interesting one. I'm still inclined to the view that it is ok under 4-2b as there is no intent to influence the movement of the ball and that it is not an attachment. But we'll see!

It is a bit of a daft one really. If this player is to be penalised, it is for something that would have, if anything, an adverse effect on his play with the club.
This is another of those cases where it seems like there should be some rule about it so we try to analogize it to other rules, when the basic rule of read literally should do it. There is nothing in the rules that prohibits playing with a wrapper on the club, unless it is attached or is intended to influence the ball.
 
This is another of those cases where it seems like there should be some rule about it so we try to analogize it to other rules, when the basic rule of read literally should do it. There is nothing in the rules that prohibits playing with a wrapper on the club, unless it is attached or is intended to influence the ball.

Which is what I was saying.`
 
Top