Driver advice

Rb77

Visit site
Hi all I've been playing for about 9 months now and need some advice on my driver. I got fitted for a rogue draw driver which was playing well however I have managed to develop a slice. I am working on my swing mechanics & grip to try to eradicate this. In the interim I invested in a ping g400 sft 3 wood. This I hit like a dream everytime 220 off tee and 190 to 210 off deck I'm sure you guys hit longer but I am still a beginner! Currently due to my slice I am not even using my driver. Ping do a driver in this range so do you think I should trade in the rogue and look at the ping? So would the benefit I get on the 3 w transfer to the driver if that makes sense? Any advice welcome. Either way still working in range on swing :)

jusme

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I know someone who plays both 3W and driver in SFT (G30 range) because of the slice and the 3W performs much better than the driver at reducing sideways movement. He can still hit the SFT driver like a banana ball. No driver will fix a slice and the SFT is no exception

If I hit the 3 wood 220 of the tee I doubt I would ever worry about a driver until I sorted my swing, be that years down the road. You are way above average distance wise hitting 220 of tee, assuming that's real world distance and not what you think you hit.

Rb77

Visit site
Thanks that does help. Yeah it is real world based on gps but I think it's due to the club fitting me really well. As soon as I drop to my irons I'm way back on yardage so 5 iron is 160 then roughly minus ten per club from there. I just seem to hit freely and well with the ping. Thanks for the advice I'll keep working in range on my driver swing.then one day oh one I can let it rip :)

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
If your hitting your 3 wood that well the problem with your driver could just be down to the length of your shaft,I would go back to your fitter and ask to try a shorter length shaft in your driver.

Rb77

Visit site