Does .4 Degrees of Loft Really Make a Difference?

Hoganman1

Visit site
I have a 10.5* Ping G400 driver. I've been playing it for a couple of years and really like it. I recently changed the shaft from R flex to A flex and picked up a few yards. I've also experimented with changing the adjustable hosel to both the large + (which adds 1degree of loft) and the smaller + (which adds .6 of a degree of loft). Frankly, I cannot tell any difference. I know adding loft also closes the face slightly, but how much of a difference can .4 degrees of loft make?

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
If you're hitting the middle every time there will be a difference...not much but it's there.
But you need to be an Iron Byron to do that.
In the real world, where your strike wanders all over the face and your other dynamics move about too....4/5ths of bugger all difference
In my opinion

BubbaP

Occasional Player of Golf
Visit site
Yeah the difference would be hard to notice you'd think.

Not a big fan but came across this the other day, in the realms of how differently we can swing / strike even within a small time period.

Can skip to about 7 mins

Hoganman1

Visit site
I'm old (72) and usually hit the fairway, but I'm not long anymore. My drives are 180 when it's cold and wet and maybe 210 on dry fairways. The A shaft has added a few yards and I'm thinking adding loft will help me keep in the air a little longer. I score from 100 yards out and for me straight is the new long. I'll probably go with the large + which adds one degree and will close the face so I can play a draw, Thanks for the info.

Maninblack4612

Tour Winner
www.camera-angles.co.uk