Do I need new irons?

Robster

Hacker
Visit site
I have been playing for around 2 years now and really enoying it. I have had a set of lessons and have a quite consistant swing. My problem is that my irons launch very high I'm hitting my 6 iron around 140 yards.

I have some wilson deep red fat shafts and I'm wondering should I change to something that launches lower to get more distance? If so what do people suggest to try. I have not got a handicap but I play a tricky par 27 allot and shoot a 35 - 42

S

Snelly

Probably not. The way you hit the ball isn't really down to the irons, it is down to you.

brendy

Global Moderator
Visit site
Some shafts do make a big difference, I tried a set of RACs irons a couple of years back and they went nowhere, which surprised me as I had a set of RAC LTs and they went as far as my titleists now, the only difference was that the RAC's had cheap shafts, cant remember which model they were now as they lasted a couple of holes and were handed back as they were on trial.
Technique will have the biggest say though. Have you tried any other clubs?

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
No.
One of the guys a play with has the same Wilson clubs and plays off 6. Its you, not the clubs that will make more difference how you hit it than anything. Just cos a lot of people on here are all raving about this driver or this shaft making a difference to there game, the main thing is how you swing. Get some lessons, improve then look at changing clubs.

A

Alex1975

I have to agree with the others, I had a set of Deep Reds up until before christmas and they were very long hitting.

In the last few weeks with my new irons I have found a high ball flight and saw on a video on saturday that is was the way I was releasing the ball.

welshjim22

Head Pro
Visit site