Daily Mail 10 Radical Rules Changes

Wasn’t it previously both shots count plus a 1 shot penalty,
So in effect a 2 shot penalty

Or have I got the wrong end of the rule book?

Edit , my mistake looked it up 1 shot and 1 penalty irrespective of how many times you deflect it

Until midnight tomorrow then it’s all change 👍
 
Last edited:
From Rule 12.2b
Before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
Touch sand in the bunker with a club:

  • In the area right in front of or right behind the ball (except as allowed under Rule 7.1a in fairly searching for a ball or under Rule 12.2a in removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction),
  • In making a practice swing, or
  • In making the backswing for a stroke.
Grant Moir quoted as saying:
What we wanted to get away from was the raft of accidental penalties, such as if you touch the sand inadvertently on your backswing.
 
Last edited:
IMHO the whole article is shoddy & poorly written and could/will lead to confusion. But then after all, it is the MailOnline so what does one expect.

Not only was it online....it was in the print version as well.....some kind soul thought they were being helpful at my club by pinning a copy to the local rules noticeboard....needless to say it didn't stay up there for very long once I'd seen it.

As well as the obvious one about touching sand in the backswing the other badly worded section that could easily lead to confusion was the one where it said there would no longer be a penalty for inadvertently moving an LI in a penalty area....the implication being that a penalty would still remain for deliberately moving an LI in a penalty area.....and as we all know as of 13 hours time we will be free to wilfully move LI's anywhere on the course!!!
 
Not only was it online....it was in the print version as well.....some kind soul thought they were being helpful at my club by pinning a copy to the local rules noticeboard....needless to say it didn't stay up there for very long once I'd seen it.

As well as the obvious one about touching sand in the backswing the other badly worded section that could easily lead to confusion was the one where it said there would no longer be a penalty for inadvertently moving an LI in a penalty area....the implication being that a penalty would still remain for deliberately moving an LI in a penalty area.....and as we all know as of 13 hours time we will be free to wilfully move LI's anywhere on the course!!!
Providing the ball (when in a bunker or PA) doesn't move as a result.
 
Not only was it online....it was in the print version as well.....some kind soul thought they were being helpful at my club by pinning a copy to the local rules noticeboard....needless to say it didn't stay up there for very long once I'd seen it.

As well as the obvious one about touching sand in the backswing the other badly worded section that could easily lead to confusion was the one where it said there would no longer be a penalty for inadvertently moving an LI in a penalty area ....the implication being that a penalty would still remain for deliberately moving an LI in a penalty area.....and as we all know as of 13 hours time we will be free to wilfully move LI's anywhere on the course!!!

Indeed, that was one bit I was thinking of.
 
I was about to say let's run a sweep as to how long it takes for someone to fall foul of the new rules but I suspect by 9am tomorrow it will have happened...
 
Top