Complete beginner at 53

Brads

Visit site
Hello folks.

First post on here.

For a couple of reasons I am taking up golf at age 53. Always liked the game and watched it, but other interests have kept me from trying it.
Well the time has come. I have a set of clubs that were my old mans, (older Ben Sayers M2I tour) they seem fine and are mint so why not use them just now right ?.

I've never set foot on a tee. Ever. So to start, I have booked for hour long lessons with my local pro.
First lesson was good. Very basic, how to hit a ball etc, and I'm ok so far. Been on the range 4 times,and yesterday was hitting a wedge of the mat and getting a decent grouping. Avoiding longer clubs for now (had a wee go at driving)

I'll book my second session soon, but my main question is this. I decided not to even play a round of golf until my lessons took me onto the course, but should I wait, or should I just get out there and play even if I make a complete tit of it ?

My thought is wait, but what's the consensus on here ?

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
I like playing golf rather than hitting balls. My first experience of golf was playing, borrowed a set of clubs, hit a couple balls on the range then went out on a course to play in a cricket club golf day. Was a bit younger than you starting, was 43.

I just love playing, go out in all weather's, don't hit balls that often. Golf for me is going on a golf course, not a range, but you do need to practice to get better and the range is the place to do that. Player on a course is much more fun.

Enjoy

SurreyGolfer

Visit site
There are some good 9 hole courses and/or Par 3 short courses dotted around the country. If there is one near you I'd give one of those a bash because 1) You'll primarily be using the shorter clubs you are already familiar with, 2) There's likely to be a more 'relaxed' attitude than at some clubs and 3) You'll enjoy it more!