twrmgoat
New member
Player mistakenly took free relief for ‘line of sight’ from an immovable object.
But dropped within two club lengths not nearer the hole, so legal drop if had been taking an unplayable.
Player submitted card to committee to rule on. DQ for playing from wrong place or can the drop be treated as a penalty shot?
I think the latter, although ChatGPT pointing me at 14.5b(3) which I’m not sure is exact scenario. Also says committee has discretion under procedures section 8 which I can’t really see.
But dropped within two club lengths not nearer the hole, so legal drop if had been taking an unplayable.
Player submitted card to committee to rule on. DQ for playing from wrong place or can the drop be treated as a penalty shot?
I think the latter, although ChatGPT pointing me at 14.5b(3) which I’m not sure is exact scenario. Also says committee has discretion under procedures section 8 which I can’t really see.