Beginner questions

Jd1980

Visit site
Hello from a total newbie to golf
So far I have been to a driving range twice
I'm wondering how long people would recommend waiting before I attempt a go on the course
There was a significant improvement on my 2nd attempt at the range (as in i hit more than I missed) but I'll need some time to learn accuracy I think

Secondly I'm currently renting a club every time I go.... I don't want to fork out for a set as yet until I'm sure the game is for me.. But would anyone recommend purchasing a single club (if so which one) just for practice purposes

Many thanks for any advice

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Hi and welcome to the forum.
If your not over tall or short, just get a 7 iron off ebay or from your local pro shop. That should do until you're ready to splash some money.
But one thing I suggest you do now!
Have a lesson or two with a PGA Pro
Nothing worse for a pro than trying to undo all the mistakes you have learned on your own

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Visit site
As always Bob has a sensible & helpful reply , if your nrar a shop or range , approach the pro , tell him/her where your at & where you hope to get to

Most pros will set u along the right road ,

anotherdouble

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hello and welcome. As has been said, try your local range. My local one is running a ,Get into Golf scheme. For £36 you get 4 hrs of lessons and a couple of refresher sessions. Great value

Dasit

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Hello from a total newbie to golf
So far I have been to a driving range twice
I'm wondering how long people would recommend waiting before I attempt a go on the course
There was a significant improvement on my 2nd attempt at the range (as in i hit more than I missed) but I'll need some time to learn accuracy I think