beginner clubs fitting and angles

OLDGIT ST

Visit site
Hi all,
So at risk of being shot, I have to ask this…

I am a beginner that has been practicing and playing 2 to 3 times a week for the last 5 months with a couple of lessons.

I have a box set of clubs that have got me started and I posted about changing these now as I believe they are not helping me now…..

When I went for a fitting I had the typical Ping chart static measurement of 2 degrees up. I hit some balls and found the cobra F9’s were the nicest for me to hit over Pings offering.

I hit a lie board with the F9’s and it showed still striking a small amount on the toe HOWEVER that was just one swing and not the greatest one either and even though I am a beginner I do believe the club lie should be in the correct realms at least, even though the argument of the lie angle may change when I improve could be levied, however if it isn’t in the right area to start with I cant help but think I will keep trying to adapt my swing to compensate…..

Add to this lie angles of club manufacturers are different it makes it a mare for the beginner to try to pick the correct clubs….
I also believe the lie board didn’t feel right to swing into as the club bounced slightly pre impact…..

SO, I have read and agree the marker pen on the ball method would be a good way to obtain this but here is my dilemma, the box set I have (Wilson Stretch XLS) gives me no indication of there angles so even if I use a marker pen and find my club head is hitting or my heel is hitting how on earth can I work out what a different manufacturers club lie angle would be against my box set…..

I do appreciate some will say why on earth is a beginner worried about this but let me say I am only trying to make sure I have a club that FITS me and my current swing that I can practice with in the knowledge I am in the correct ball park for fit with my clubs……

Any advice would be greatly received,,, 😊

Crow

Crow Person
Visit site