Ball Position In Stance

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Not really looking for advice here, moreso for the more knowledgeable sorts to share any theory or info about it.

Years ago when I was a total novice I recall being told (or reading somewhere) that ball position should vary depending on what club you're using. So driver is obviously near the left foot, but also your long irons would be left of centre, mid irons centre, short irons right of centre and wedges slightly more towards the right foot. Firstly, is that correct theory that is or used to be taught? Or have I totally mis-remembered that?

It's not something I ever really did anyway, at least not 100%. I certainly played all my mid-irons, short irons and wedges from the centre of my stance. But 5 and 6 iron I used to play with the ball slightly forward/left of centre. I think it was because it helps me with an old set of irons I had when I struggled with those two clubs. Late last year and with my current irons of course, I was still struggling until I had a mini-epiphany I thought, "why am I hitting my 6 iron any different to my 7 iron which I usually hit pretty well?" I started hitting the 6 iron with the ball in the middle of stance, and there was notable improvement.

Cut forward to this Saturday just gone, I'm using a relatively new hybrid, still working out how to hit one as I've said many times. Again this is a club I was still hitting slightly left of centre in my stance, as I thought this was the done thing I suppose. Often seem to fat it or top it. On the back nine I had another opportunity to hit the hybrid, thought I'd just try one out of the middle of the stance, and hit it about as flush as I ever hit a hybrid! It was pleasing.

So I'm starting to think this ball position stuff that I thought was golf theory is total bollards, or I've just been misinformed this entire time. What is the correct theory on ball position in stance?